Carlos Martiel, "Mule," performance with tree branch and iron bolt, 8 hours duration, Denniston Hill, 2016.

Our residency and public programs are organized around a curatorial concept which provides the overarching framework for our activities. Residents are selected through a nomination process based on artistic merit and how their practice intersects with the curatorial theme. We invite artists, architects, writers, and poets at any stage of their career to have time and space for engaged reflection, research, and production. 

* We are not accepting applications at this time. 

Read more about Exodus, the 2018-2022 curatorial theme. 

Denniston Hill’s (DH) annual Distinguished Performance Artist Award (DPAA) is given for excellence in the field of performance art to multidisciplinary artists blurring the boundaries of the genre and exploring social issues. In addition to receiving a cash award, DPAA recipients spends one month at DH and lead an intensive workshop that culminates in a public performance at our annual Open House. Xaviera Simmons, Clifford Owens, and Okwui Okpokwasili received the DPAA award in 2018, 2017 and 2016 respectively.


Pelenakeke Brown (New York) (In partnership with The Laundromat Project)
Shailja Patel (Kenya) (in partnership with Kaya Press)
Tigue: Matt Evans, Amy Garapic and Carson Moody
Andy Robert (New York)
Maia Cruz Palileo (New York)
Jenny Reardon (California)
Morehshin Allahyari (New York)
Prince Harvey (New York)
Oluremi C. Onabanjo(New York)
Lynette Stephenson (New York)
jc lenochan (New Jersey)
Nicole Fleetwood (New York)

Marcellus Holton (New York)

Open House 2019:

Robbie McCauley (New York) (Distinguished Performance Artist Award)

Tina Ruan

Eric Rasmussen

Returning Alumni

Nana Adusei Poku (New York)
Alhena Katsof (New York)
Sayward Schoonmaker (New York)


American Artist (New York)
Chloë Bass (The Laundromat Project) (New York)
Sita Kuratomi Bhaumik (in partnership with Kaya Press) (Berkeley)
Ron Jean-Gilles (New York)
Renee Gladman (Connecticut)
Maxwell Mutanda (in partnership with Africa's Out!) (South Africa, Zimbabwe)
NIC Kay (New York)
Tarik Kiswanson (Paris)
Troy Michie (New York)
Patricia Montoya (Mass.)
Joseph Mosconi (Los Angeles)
Sayward Schoonmaker (Chicago)
Solveig Nelson (Chicago)
Joanna Valente (New York)
Linda Yablonsky (New York)

Respite: Denniston Hill with Xaviera Simmons, recipient of DH’s 2018 Distinguished Performance Artist Award

Pelenakeke Brown (New York)
Malcolm Peacock (New York)
Rina Espritu (New York)
Sonia Louise Davis (New York)

Returning Alumni

Sacha Yanow (New York)
Brenda Shaughnessy (New Jersey)
Joseph Liatela (New York)


Andrianna Campbell (New York)
Autumn Knight (New York)
Cauleen Smith (Chicago)
Clifford Owens (New York)
Craig Teicher (New Jersey)
Ivan Gaete (New York) in partnership with the Laundromat Project
Jared Buckheister (New York)
Jose Araguz (Portland)
Julia Phillips  (Berlin/New York)
Lerato Shadi (South Africa)  in partnership with Africa's Out!
Kameelah Janan Rasheed (New York)
Moira Williams (New York)
Morgan Parker (New York)
Natalie Diaz (Arizona)
Regine Basha (New York)
Rosa Barba (Berlin)
Sacha Yanow (New York)

Seminar: Denniston Hill 2017, led by Clifford Owens

Emma Sulkowicz (New York)
Asif Mian (New York)
Joseph Liatela (Berkley)
Alexandra Beriault (Toronto)
Nadja Marcin (New York/Germany)

Art & Law Program


Domenick Ammirati (New York) 
Boychild (Los Angeles)
R. Erica Doyle (New York)
Adrienne Edwards (New York)
Cathy Park Hong (New York)
Alex Kershaw (Sydney/San Diego)
Anissa Mack (New York)
Tiffany Malakooti (New York)
Carlos Martiel (Cuba)
Dave McKenzie (New York)
Okwui Okpokwasili and Peter Born (New York)
Yoshua Okón (Mexico)
Araya Rasdjarmrearnsook (Thailand)
Steven Reker (New York)
Brenda Shaughnessy (New York)
Pamela Sneed (New York)
Michael Soi (Kenya)
Wu Tsang (Los Angeles)


Steven Reker,
Emma McNally
Alhena Katsof
Benny Merris
Jo-ey Tang
Nana Adusei-Poku
Magnus Schaefer


Creative Chemistries/Art 21
The Art & Law Program
Independent Curators International


Nana Adusei-Poku
John Person
Steven Reker
Yasufumi Nakamori
Josh Kline
Booker Stardrum


LaToya Ruby Frazier
Taro Masushio
Leslie Parks
Eli Ping
Elodie Pong
Steve Rekker and People Get Ready
Michael Vazquez


Rachel Carrigan
Quincy Flowers
Hal Foster
Anthony Keith Giannini
Lauren van Haaften-Schick
Alexandria Harris
Steffani Jemison
Jennie C. Jones
Sérgio Muñoz Sarmiento
Carlos Reyes
Sharifa Rhodes-Pitts
Dolores Zinny and Juan Maidagan


Alec Hanley Bemis
Jherek Bischoff
Ben Cassorla
Dawn Chan
Todd Chandler
William Cordova
Thomas Devaney
Deborah Gorlin
Adam Hall
Matt Hughes
Mike Lavelle
Dani Leventhal
Sara Marcus
Nate Martinez
Emma McNally
Emily Nemens
Andy Ness
People Get Ready
Matt Phillips
Brett Price
Steven Reker
Amy Sadao


Ei Arakawa, visual artist
Stuart Bailey, designer/publisher
Tanyth Berkeley, visual artist
John Bolla, woodworker
Keil Borrman, visual artist
Kerstin Brätsch, visual artist
Lisa Brogna, visual artist
Brooklyn Mammal, designers
A.K. Burns, visual artist
Leidy Churchman, visual artist
William Cordova, visual artist
Tracy Cocks, social worker
Dean Daderko, curator
Sarah Demeuse, curator
Elizabeth Felicella, photographer
fierce pussy, artist collective
Coco Fusco, visual artist
Nikolas Gambaroff, visual artist
Tara Geer, visual artist
Amy Granat, visual artist
Jesse Aron Green, visual artist
Ed Halter, curator/writer
Robyn Hillman Harrigan, critic
Larissa Harris, curator
Katie Hubbard, visual artist
Anthony Huberman, curator
Megan Hustad, writer
Hitomi Iwasaki, curator
Ahram Jeong, visual artist
Hunter Johnson, mathematician
Angie Kiefer, visual artist
Prem Krishnamurty, designer/curator
Ajay Kurian, visual artist
Dani Leventhal, visual artist
David Levine, visual artist
Klara Liden, visual artist
Tamara Maletic, designer
Francesco Manacorda, critic/curator
Nick Mauss, visual artist
Dan Michaelson, designer
MPA (Megan Palaima), performance artist
Augusto Moreno, energy consultant
Brett Price, visual artist
Renaud Proch, curator
David Reinfurt, designer/publisher
Adele Röder, visual artist
Carissa Rodriguez, visual artist
Amy Sadao,curator
Nora Schultz, visual artist
Wolfgang Staehle, visual artist
A.L. Steiner, visual artist
Elisabeth Subrin, visual artist/filmmaker
Lanka Tattersall, critic
Jessica Winter, writer
Aimee Xenou, visual artist


Sadie Benning, visual artist/filmmaker
Sanford Biggers, visual artist
Kimberly Bliss, writer
Mai Braun, visual artist
Anya Gallaccio, visual artist
Miki Garcia, curator
Prem Krishnamurthy, designer/curator
Zoe Leonard,visual artist/photographer
Lily Mazzarella, poet/herbalist
EE Miller, interdisciplinary artist
Andy Ness, visual artist
Lauren O'Neill-Butler, writer
Juliana Snapper, sonic artist


Nancy Brooks Brody, visual artist
Jennifer Montgomery, filmmaker
Christopher Murtha, visual artist
Suzanne Snider, writer
Meredith TenHoor, architectural historian



 Want to add your website? Fill out this form to let us know. 

Denniston Hill's residency is  made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.

Denniston Hill's residency is made possible by the New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature.


 Want to add your website? Fill out this form to let us know. 

Name *